Jury 2024

Jury 2024

Jury 2023

The world and design as a discipline, its tasks and responsibilities, are constantly changing. Young talents who want to actively shape this change with attitude and innovative ideas must recognize developments and opportunities early on with an alert eye and bring relevant concepts into the world at the right time with appropriate means.

With diverse perspectives and broad-based expertise, this year’s high-caliber, nine-member GDG jury of experts will use a multi-stage process to select around 45 exhibits for the GDG Exhibition at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, as well as the four winners for the GDG Awards, who have the potential to do just that – shape change.

The jury’s selection is characterized by a wide range of topics as well as differentiated design attitudes. The selected projects respond intelligently and in a forward-looking way to challenges at the intersection of culture, society, research, technology and sustainability. On the day before the opening of the exhibition, four award winners will be selected from among the exhibitors in a jury round, who will particularly impress the jurors with their outstanding work.

The graduation projects will be evaluated with individual weighting in the areas of innovation & impact, design & construction, and presentation & communication. In addition, specific selection criteria are added that relate to Sustainability & Circular Thinking, Society & Community, and Research & Transfer.

Barbara Lersch
Hans Sauer Stiftung

Viktoria Lea Heinrich
Productdesigner and curator MK&G Hamburg

Kris Krois
Free University Bozen-Bolzano

in collaboration with Rosario Talevi

Rosario Talevi
Free University Bozen-Bolzano

in collaboration with Kris Krois

Nicolas König
German Design Award Newcomer 2024

Nicola Stattmann
OMC°C and Stattmann Furniture

Matthias Wagner K
Director Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt am Main

Werner Aisslinger
Studio Aisslinger

Anniek Timmermann
PCH INNOVATIONS

Stephan Ott

Stephan Ott
Institute for Design Research and Appliance (IfDRA)

Lynn Harles
Naturkundemuseum Berlin

Jury 2024

Jury 2024

Jury 2023

Die Welt und Design als Disziplin, seine Aufgaben und Verantwortungen, wandelt sich ständig. Junge Talente, die mit Haltung und innovativen Ideen diesen Wandel aktiv mitgestalten wollen, müssen mit wachem Auge Entwicklungen und Chancen frühzeitig erkennen und relevante Konzepte zum richtigen Zeitpunkt mit angemessenen Mitteln in die Welt bringen.

Mit vielfältigen Perspektiven und einer breit aufgestellten Expertise wählt die diesjährige hochkarätige, neunköpfige GDG Fachjury in einem mehrstufigen Prozess rund 45 Exponate für die GDG Exhibition im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, sowie die vier Preisträger*innen für die GDG Awards aus, die das Potential haben genau dies zu tun – den Wandel zu gestalten.

Die Auswahl der Jury zeichnet sich durch eine Bandbreite an Themen sowie differenzierte Gestaltungshaltungen aus. Die ausgewählten Entwürfe reagieren intelligent und zukunftsweisend auf Herausforderungen im Spannungsfeld von Kultur, Gesellschaft, Forschung, Technologie und Nachhaltigkeit. Aus den Reihen der Aussteller*innen werden am Vortag der Ausstellungseröffnung vier Preisträger*innen in einem Juryrundgang ermittelt, die die Juror*innen in besonderem Maße durch ihre herausragende Arbeit überzeugen.

Die Abschlussarbeiten werden mit individueller Gewichtung in den Bereichen Innovation & Auswirkung, Design & Konstruktion sowie Darstellung & Kommunikation bewertet. Darüber hinaus werden spezifische Auswahlkriterien hinzugezogen, die sich auf Nachhaltigkeit & Kreislaufdenken, Gesellschaft & Gemeinschaft sowie Forschung & Transfer beziehen.

Barbara Lersch
Hans Sauer Stiftung

Viktoria Lea Heinrich
Produktdesignerin und Kuratorin MK&G Hamburg

Kris Krois
Freie Universität Bozen

im Tandem mit Rosario Talevi

Rosario Talevi
Freie Universität Bozen

im Tandem mit Kris Krois

Nicolas König
German Design Award Newcomer 2024

Nicola Stattmann
OMC°C und Stattmann Furniture

Matthias Wagner K
Direktor Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt am Main

Werner Aisslinger
Studio Aisslinger

Anniek Timmermann
PCH INNOVATIONS

Stephan Ott

Stephan Ott
Institute for Design Research and Appliance (IfDRA)

Lynn Harles
Studio Harles

Fotos Jurysitzung: Christof Jakob