GDG Show 2022

GDG SHOW 22

Perspectives for Graduates in Productdesign

Awards, exhibition and talks on the Design Campus of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

From 2 to 31 October 2022, outstanding product and industrial design graduates from Germany’s most prestigious higher-education institutions in the field of art and design will be showcased at the Wasserpalais of Schloss Pillnitz (Riverside Palace of Pillnitz Palace) by the German Design Graduates initiative and its project sponsor the German Design Council, in cooperation with the Design Campus of the Kunstgewerbemuseum of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD). Under the influence of the serious changes and developments in politics, society and the environment, the exhibition is dedicated to the central issues of our time and shows the most interesting ideas and approaches of young product design talents in the categories Sustainable Solutions, Everyday Life, Technical Innovation, Living Together and Future Scenarios.

Selected by a renowned jury, four awards are presented annually to outstanding graduates. The awards ceremony will take place during the exhibition, as will the GDG Talks, which this year will focus on the expectations of young designers under the heading Perspectives for Graduates in Product Design.

Realised by the initiative German Design Graduates and its project sponsor German Design Council in cooperation with the Design Campus of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden.

Exhibitors

Alica Assadi, Almut Nowack, Anne Feldhof, Arista Meier, Behnaz Hasani Darabadi, Carolin Horn, Cosima Pauli, Dominic Eger Domingos, Elena Kayser, Ezra Dilger, Felix Pape, Isabel Redecke, Jannes & Abdalla Lüdtke, Jasper Levin Mahlau, Johann Post, Johannes Schmidtner, Judith Kamp, Julia Rademacker, Julius Bahl, Katharina Rottner, Lars Herzog, Lisa Heinze, Louie Gavin, Louis Bruno Bindernagel, Lucas Dieckmann, Lukas Peschmann, Maren Klamser, Marleen Clara Bauer, Matthias Gschwendtner, Milan Bardo Bergheim, Milena Huber, Nadja Sommer, Pablo Lapettina, Philipp Kleine, Sophia Reißenweber, Sophia Stoewer, Stefan Teubner, Steffen Strehl, Tung Son Tran, Yujin Kang

The following universities enable their graduates to participate in 2022

Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle, University of Applied Sciences Potsdam, Folkwang University of the Arts Essen, Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, HBKsaar, Düsseldorf University of Applied Sciences, HAWK University of Applied Sciences and Arts, HFBK Hamburg, Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main, HTW Berlin, Hannover University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Pforzheim University, Weissensee Academy of Art Berlin, Kunsthochschule Kassel, Muthesius University of Fine Arts and Design Kiel, Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg, Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design, Technische Universität Dresden, Berlin University of the Arts

The Design Campus of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden in August 2021 at the Kunstgewerbemuseum in Pillnitz Palace. Foto: Oliver Killig

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR VISITING THE EXHIBITION
Duration: October 2 – 31

Exhibition venue
Design Campus at the Wasserpalais
Kunstgewerbemuseum, Schloss Pillnitz
Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden
August-Böckstiegel-Strasse 2
01326 Dresden

Opening hours
Tuesday – Sunday: 10am – 5pm

designcampus.org/

www.skd.museum/besuch/schloss-pillnitz/

GDG TALKS

Sunday, October 2
11am – 3pm
Registration required via Registration Talks

DESIGN EMERGENCY
Building a Better Future

A talk by Alice Rawsthorn about visionary designers whose innovation and ingenuity give us hope for the future by redesigning and reshaping our lives so we can thrive. Through four themes – technology, society, communication, and ecology – Alice Rawsthorn presents a unique portrait of how our great creative minds are developing new design solutions to the great challenges of our time, while helping us benefit from advances in science and technology.

GDG TO THE REGIONS
Regional identity + global strategies

Conceptualized by Prof. Mark Braun and moderated by Alexandra Sender, Rainer Schilling (Managing Director Berliner Blau, subsidiary Nomos Glashütte), Andreas Müller (Managing Director Mühle Shaving, a representative of Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau), Prof. Mark Braun and Lukas Hartz (Alumnus HBKsaar & GDG 2021) talk about companies with attitude, regional identity and global strategies as well as the role of design as a language without words and design as a communicator of attitude.

EDUCATION – RESEARCH – PRACTICE
Forms, potentials, connections in design

Planned by Prof.in Dr. Annika Frye (Design Science & Research, Muthesius Academy of Fine Arts Kiel) and Dr. Christian Wölfel (Senior Research Associate Professorship of Technical Design TU Dresden), moderated by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Krzywinski (Professorship of Technical Product Design TU Dresden), Dr. Andrea Augsten (Design Researcher, Consultant for Human-Centered Innovation at GIZ, DGTF Executive Director), Christopher Stillings (Covestro), Dipl. Des. Jens Hoyer (Head of Design Strategy & Pre Development, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH, Brand Siemens), Stephan Ott (Head of Institute for Design Research and Appliance) and Lea Schmidt (PhD student Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts) will talk about the connection and transfer of design research and practice, sustainable constellations of manufacturers, researchers and developers, and the role of doctoral studies in design education.

PARTICIPATIVE DESIGN IN PRACTICE
Challenges and opportunities

Moderated by Barbara Lersch (Hans Sauer Foundation), actors such as Mona Mijthab von Mosan, Felix Egle & Felix Schreiber, Prof. Ineke Hans and Leif Huff (CDO Wirelane) will talk about their experiences in various industries about challenges and opportunities of participatory design. How do actors deal with industry-specific challenges – from urban practice to medical and circular design? How can we anchor participatory design processes in the processes of cooperation partners as an independent designer, in agencies or companies? How can citizens, employees, stakeholders and affected persons be activated and involved in processes? How is the professional image of the designer and the relationship between designers and non-designers changing?

GDG SHOW 2021
Images © Andrea Vollmer

GDG Show 2022

GDG SHOW 22

Perspectives for Graduates in Productdesign

Awards, Ausstellung und Talks auf dem Design Campus der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Herausragende Absolvent*innen der renommiertesten deutschen Design- und Kunsthochschulen aus den Bereichen Produkt- und Industriedesign werden vom 02. bis 31. Oktober 2022 von der Initiative German Design Graduates und deren Projektträger Rat für Formgebung in Kooperation mit dem Design Campus des Kunstgewerbemuseums der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD) im Wasserpalais auf Schloss Pillnitz präsentiert. Die Ausstellung widmet sich unter dem Einfluss der gravierenden Veränderungen und Entwicklungen in Politik, Gesellschaft und Umwelt den zentralen Themen unserer Zeit und zeigt die interessantesten Ideen und Lösungsansätze junger Talente des Produktdesigns in den Katgorien Sustainable Solutions, Everyday Life, Technical Innovation, Living Together sowie Future Scenarios.

Ausgewählt von einer hochkarätigen Jury, werden jährlich vier Awards an herausragende Absolvent*innen vergeben. Die Preisverleihung findet im Rahmen der Ausstellung statt ebenso wie die GDG-Talks, die sich in diesem Jahr mit dem Schwerpunkt Perspectives for Graduates in Productdesign den Erwartungen von jungen Gestalter*innen widmen.

Realisiert von der Initiative German Design Graduates und deren Projektträger Rat für Formgebung in Kooperation mit dem Design Campus der Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Aussteller*innen

Alica Assadi, Almut Nowack, Anne Feldhof, Arista Meier, Behnaz Hasani Darabadi, Carolin Horn, Cosima Pauli, Dominic Eger Domingos, Elena Kayser, Ezra Dilger, Felix Pape, Isabel Redecke, Jannes & Abdalla Lüdtke, Jasper Levin Mahlau, Johann Post, Johannes Schmidtner, Judith Kamp, Julia Rademacker, Julius Bahl, Katharina Rottner, Lars Herzog, Lisa Heinze, Louie Gavin, Louis Bruno Bindernagel, Lucas Dieckmann, Lukas Peschmann, Maren Klamser, Marleen Clara Bauer, Matthias Gschwendtner, Milan Bardo Bergheim, Milena Huber, Nadja Sommer, Pablo Lapettina, Philipp Kleine, Sophia Reißenweber, Sophia Stoewer, Stefan Teubner, Steffen Strehl, Tung Son Tran, Yujin Kang

Folgende Hochschulen ermöglichen ihren Absolvent*innen 2022 die Teilnahme

Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle, Fachhochschule Potsdam, Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen, Hochschule Darmstadt, Hochschule  der Bildenden Künste Saar, Hochschule Düsseldorf, Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaft und Kunst Hildesheim/Holzminden/Göttingen, Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg, Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, Hochschule Hannover, Hochschule Pforzheim, Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, Kunsthochschule Kassel, Muthesius Kunsthochschule Kiel, Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe, Technische Universität Dresden, Universität der Künste Berlin

Der Design Campus von Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden im August 2021 im Kunstgewerbemuseum im Schloss Pillnitz . Foto: Oliver Killig

WICHTIGE INFORMATIONEN ZUM BESUCH DER AUSSTELLUNG
Laufzeit: 02. – 31.Oktober 2022

Ausstellungsort
Design Campus im Wasserpalais
Kunstgewerbemuseum Schloss Pillnitz
Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden
August-Böckstiegel-Straße 2
01326 Dresden

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag – Sonntag: 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr

designcampus.org/

www.skd.museum/besuch/schloss-pillnitz/

GDG TALKS

Sonntag, 2.Oktober
11:00 – 15:00 Uhr
Anmeldung erforderlich via Anmeldung Talks

DESIGN EMERGENCY
Building a Better Future

Ein Vortrag von Alice Rawsthorn über visionäre Designer*innen, deren Innovationen und Erfindungsreichtum uns Hoffnung für die Zukunft geben, indem sie unser Leben neu gestalten und umgestalten, damit wir uns entfalten können. Anhand von vier Themen – Technologie, Gesellschaft, Kommunikation und Ökologie – präsentiert Alice Rawsthorn ein einzigartiges Porträt darüber, wie unsere großen kreativen Köpfe neue Designlösungen für die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit entwickeln und uns gleichzeitig helfen, von den Fortschritten in Wissenschaft und Technologie zu profitieren.

GDG TO THE REGIONS
Regionale Identität + globale Strategien

Konzipiert von Prof. Mark Braun und moderiert von Alexandra Sender sprechen Rainer Schilling (Geschäftsführer Berliner Blau, Tochterunternehmen Nomos Glashütte), Andreas Müller (Geschäftsführer Mühle Shaving, eine Vertreter*in der Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau, Prof. Mark Braun und Lukas Hartz (Alumnus HBKsaar & GDG 2021) über Unternehmen mit Haltung, regionale Identität und globale Strategien sowie die Rolle von Gestaltung als Sprache ohne Worte und Design als Kommunikator von Haltung.

AUSBILDUNG – FORSCHUNG – PRAXIS
Formen, Potenziale, Verknüpfungen im Design

Konzipiert von Prof.in Dr. Annika Frye (Designwissenschaft & Forschung, Muthesius Kunsthochschule Kiel) und Dr. Christian Wölfel (Senior Research Associate Professur für Technisches Design TU Dresden), moderiert von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Krzywinski (Professur Technisches Produktdesign TU Dresden) sprechen Dr. Andrea Augsten (Designforscherin, Beraterin für Human-Centered Innovation bei der GIZ, DGTF Vorständin), Christopher Stillings (Covestro), Dipl. Des. Jens Hoyer (Head of Design Strategy & Pre Development, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH, Brand Siemens), Stephan Ott  (Head of Institute for Design Research and Appliance) und Lea Schmidt (Doktorandin Hochschule Luzern) über Verbindung und Transfer von Designforschung und Praxis, zukunftsfähige Konstellationen von Hersteller*innen, Forscher*innen und Entwickler*innen sowie die Rolle der Promotion in der Designausbildung.

PARTIZIPATIVES DESIGN IN DER PRAXIS
Herausforderungen und Chancen

Moderiert von Barbara Lersch (Hans Sauer Stiftung) sprechen Akteur*innen wie Mona Mijthab von Mosan, Felix Egle & Felix Schreiber, Prof. Ineke Hans und Leif Huff (CDO Wirelane) über ihre Erfahrungen in vielfältigen Branchen über Herausforderungen und Chancen partizipativen Designs. Wie gehen Akteur*innen mit branchenspezifischen Herausforderungen um – von Urban Practice über Medical und Circular Design? Wie können wir partizipative Gestaltungsprozesse in den Prozessen der Kooperationspartner*innen verankert werden als selbständige*r Designer*in, in Agenturen oder Unternehmen? Wie können Bürger*innen, Mitarbeiter*innen, Beteiligte und Betroffene aktiviert und in Prozesse miteingebunden werden? Wie wandelt sich das Berufsbild der Designer*in und die Beziehung zwischen Designer*innen und Nicht-Designer*innen?

GDG SHOW 2021
Images © Andrea Vollmer