Katrin Krupka, Prof. Mark Braun, Lutz Dietzold, Prof. Ineke Hans and Prof. Hermann Weizenegger


German Design Graduates (GDG), sponsored by the German Design Council Foundation, is the only national initiative aimed at promoting young graduates from the fields of product and industrial design as well as presenting renowned German universities, art academies, and technical colleges.

The enormous scope of graduation projects, as well as their varied approaches to design, offer room for discourse: not only on the subject of design, but also about research and future issues in particular. The most important task of the GDG is to present and promote the quality and variety of the achievements and solutions developed by the graduates.

The graduation projects will be presented in a variety of formats such as a comprehensive online presentation, during international exhibitions, and at networking activities. Awards and individual grants are there to provide a springboard into a career in design for the graduates.

The initiative was launched in 2019 by Prof. Ineke Hans, Prof. Hermann Weizenegger, Prof. Mark Braun and Katrin Krupka. Since 2022, the German Design Council Foundation has been leading the project. 

German Design Council

The GDG is supported by the German Design Council foundation, which has held the project sponsorship for the initiative since 2022. The German Design Council has served as the leading international centre of excellence for communication and knowledge exchange in the fields of design, brand, and innovation. It is a part of the global design community with its international services, support for young talents, and memberships, and has always contributed to establishing communication and networks worldwide. The German Design Council provides networking opportunities to its members and numerous other international design and brand experts in the form of events, conferences, awards, jury meetings, and expert panels; promotes discourse; and delivers important stimuli to the global economy. Its members currently include more than 350 companies.



Permanent members of the Advisory Board

Prof. Ineke Hans
Universität der Künste Berlin
Advisory Board Chair

Prof. Mark Braun
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar

Prof. Hermann Weizenegger
University of Applied Sciences Potsdam


Non-permanent Advisory Board members 2024 – 2026

Prof. Jantje Fleischhut
Hochschule Düsseldorf, Peter Behrens School of Arts

Prof. Marcus Keichel
Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Dresden


Project Lead
Katrin Krupka

T. 49 (0) 69 – 247448 695

Project Assistance & Content Management
Leonie Zebe

T. 49 (0) 69 247448 – 641

Julia Haecker

T. 49 (0) 69 247448 – 632

Social Media & Press
Elena Kayser


PARTNERS 2019 – 2021