Objects for Voters

Frieder Bohaumilitzky

Juli / July - 2018

Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

What is ist?

In Hamburg, waste-bins are converted into ballot-boxes. At the same time, the parliament tries to increase the voter turnout with the campaign “Don’t waste your vote!”. This contradiction was the starting point for redesigning the ballot box, the polling booth and the election table in collaboration with the electoral office.

What is the Topic?

This intervention investigates the constellation of the involved agents situationally and speculatively. Thus it alerts the electoral office to the potential outcomes and risks of their actions. While doing this the intervention reflects cultural sociologist Andreas Reckwitz’ thesis, who sees society’s current focus on aesthetics as a consequence of the reduction of emotional value in organised modernity. Following Reckwitz’ line of argument, this causes a lack of motivation to participate in rational institutions such as elections. The performative behaviour of politicians and the affectless, rational actions of the electoral office represent opposed modes of actions.

Why does it look like this?

The aim of my redesign is to move questions of design into the ruling institutions and to trigger a reaction. Hence I aesthetically charged the objects essential to the electoral process, by applying glossy finishes or conspicuous shapes. The German election decree lays down legal requirements for the design, and describes three objects in particular: §50 polling booth, §51 ballot boxes, §52 election table. Furthermore every political party has its own specific colour. To ensure the design’s independence from political camps, I decided to use only black, white and the natural colour of wood.

What is special?

The aim of my project is to create a connection between the classical understanding of product design and the desire to be politically involved as a designer. The concept of design as a form of intervention enables us to bring societal questions to the forefront of the public agenda and to carry them into the relevant institutions. Design is always a means of communication, and through speculative aggravation we are able to reveal inherent processes, arrangements and strategies.

What is new?

What is new, is the specific application of speculative design. The project demonstrates how speculative design can be effective in institutions instead of just making promises for the future. While doing this, the project contributes to the discourse regarding the effect of design on society.

Objects for Voters

Frieder Bohaumilitzky

Juli / July - 2018

Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

Was ist es?

Wer in Hamburg wählt, wirft seinen Wahlzettel in eine vom Landeswahlamt umfunktionierte Mülltonne. Gleichzeitig warb die Hamburger Bürgerschaft mit dem Slogan „Wirf deine Stimme nicht weg!“ für eine höhere Wahlbeteiligung. Dieser Widerspruch diente als Ausgangspunkt für das Redesign der Wahlurne, der Wahlkabine und des Wahltisches im Austausch mit dem Landeswahlamt.

Was ist das Thema?

Die Intervention untersucht situativ und spekulativ die Konstellation der beteiligten Akteure und sensibilisiert das Landeswahlamt für die Potentiale und die Gefahren ihres Handelns. Die Intervention reflektiert dabei die These des Kultursoziologen Andreas Reckwitz, der in der gegenwärtigen Ästhetisierung der Gesellschaft eine Reaktion auf die Affektreduktion der organisierten Moderne erkennt. Die Affektreduktion verursachte nach Reckwitz einen Motivationsmangel sich an den rationalen Institutionen – in diesem Fall an der Wahl – zu beteiligen. Die performative Politik in der Hamburger Bürgerschaft und das scheinbar affektlose, zweckrationale Handeln des Landeswahlamtes repräsentieren dabei die sich gegenüberstehenden Handlungsmodi.

Warum sieht es so aus?

Das Ziel meines redesigns ist, die gestalterischen Fragestellungen in die entscheidende Institution zu tragen und dort eine Reaktion zu provozieren. Dafür habe ich die für die Wahl notwendigen Objekte ästhetisch und affektiv aufgeladen, hochglänzend lackiert oder mit auffälligen Formen versehen. Für die Gestaltung gibt es dabei rechtliche Vorgaben, die deutsche Bundeswahlordnung beschreibt drei Objekte sehr konkret: §50 Wahlkabinen, §51 Wahlurnen, §52 Wahltisch. Jede politische Partei hat zudem eine eigene Farbe. Die Objekte sind innerhalb der rechtlichen Vorgaben gestaltet und aus Gründen der Neutralität nur in schwarz, weiß und dem natürlichen Holzton gehalten.

Was ist das Besondere?

Mit dem Projekt möchte ich eine Brücke zwischen klassischer Produktgestaltung und dem Wunsch, als Gestalter politisch wirksam zu sein, schlagen. Mit dem Verständnis von Design als Intervention zeige ich einen Weg auf, wie Designer gesellschaftlich relevante Fragestellungen auf die öffentliche Agenda setzen und in die relevanten Institutionen tragen können. Design ist hier auch immer Mittel zur Kommunikation, durch spekulative Zuspitzungen können inhärente Prozesse, Ordnungen und Strategien offengelegt werden.

Was ist neu?

Neu ist der konkrete anwendungsbezogene Einsatz von spekulativen Design. Das Projekt zeigt, wie spekulatives Design in Institutionen wirksam werden statt bloß Versprechen für die Zukunft zu machen. Damit leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zur Diskussion der gesellschaftlichen Wirksamkeit von Design.