Jury 2020

© Henning Rogge

Tulga Beyerle

Tulga Beyerle is the director of the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg. From 2014 to 2018 she was director of the Kunstgewerbemuseum, Dresden State Art Collection and member of the managing directors ibid.

In 2006 she was co-founder of the Vienna Design Week, together with Thomas Geisler and Lilli Hollein, and one of its directors until 2013. From the year 2000 until 2013 she was a freelance curator in design.

After her Magistra degree in Industrial Design (1992), she taught design history and theory for seven years at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna.

Tulga Beyerle (born 1964) is a respected design expert in Europe and currently i.a. member of the advisory board Architecture and Design of the Federal Chancellery for Art and Culture in Austria, member of the scientific advisory board of the Mudac in Lausanne and member of the program advisory council of the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn.

Quoted

What is the value of the German Design Graduates Project for you?
The German Design Graduates initiative is a valuable platform for making visible the diversity of the young design scene, but also of training opportunities in Germany, a platform that is long overdue.

Where and how can design be important in the next few years?
Design has always been important and will always be important. The difference to yesterday, or rather the day before yesterday, is perhaps that design as a discipline has become more complex, but also more self-critical. At least that’s what I would like to see designers* asking themselves more critically what, why and for whom they design something. Design won’t save the world, but it is one of the most valuable disciplines for developing solutions, linking different areas.

How do you rate the innovative strength of young graduates and their projects?
Who if not them? Promoting the courage to innovate is also a goal of this platform.

Barbara Lersch


Barbara Lersch works for the Hans Sauer Foundation in Munich. There she has been working for several years on social innovation and the societal effects of the corresponding processes in various fields such as urban development, architecture and design. After her studies in Passau, Dublin and Munich, she founded a start-up and is still actively involved in a diverse range of cultural urban development projects and collectives. 

Quoted

What is the value of the German Design Graduates Project for you?
The German Design Graduates project helps to give design a greater visibility and highlights that all areas of  our life are affected by design. The work of the graduates shows how diverse design solutions can look in various fields and points out how important design education and good design processes are for design solutions of all kinds. 

Where and how can design be important in the next few years?
Design cannot be important – it is important. Nevertheless, ecological and social issues should become a much more natural part of design processes and thus lead to more holistic, future-oriented and sustainable results.

How do you rate the innovative strength of young graduates and their projects?
The Hans Sauer Foundation has always supported students’ theses and believes in the innovative power of graduates and their understanding and sensitivity for the current and urgent challenges of our time.

Nina Sieverding

Nina Sieverding is a graphic designer, copywriter and editor. She studied Communication Design, Art History and Integrated Design in Braunschweig, Bremen and Valencia (Spain). During her studies, she completed internships at the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation and in the graphics department of the Zeit Campus magazine. Since 2019 she has been part of the editorial team of the magazine form, where she has been editor-in-chief together with Anton Rahlwes since 2020.

The design magazine form was founded in 1957 by Jupp Ernst, Willem Sandberg, Curt Schweicher and Wilhelm Wagenfeld, making it one of the oldest design magazines in Germany. form reports on developments and personalities from all design disciplines.

Quoted

What is the value of the German Design Graduates Project for you?
It creates more visibility for young designers and that’s great! With so many design graduates every semester, it is difficult to keep track of them. I dreamt of such a cross-regional project creating comparability and opportunities during my design studies.

Where and how can design be important in the next few years?
Design already is important. It pervades – consciously or unconsciously – all of our areas of life. As a source of inspiration and mediator between different disciplines, however, it will become more important in the future. Design helps us to question structures and to take other perspectives. It is a necessary condition for working on a sustainable society.

How do you rate the innovative strength of young graduates and their projects?
If not now, then when? As a young designer, the thesis gives you a unique opportunity to put as much time, energy and research into a project as possible. Nevertheless, I see many works that want to please or reproduce existing patterns. I would wish the young designers more courage to leave their usual paths and ways of working. Design is about formulating your own expectations of life and society and transforming them into new formats.

Stephan Dornhofer

Stephan Dornhofer has been Managing Director of MAGAZIN since 1984. Driven by his passion for product design, he is responsible for the assortment of the stores in Stuttgart, Munich and Bonn, as well as for the online shop magazin.com. MAGAZIN supplies a qualitative selection of interior products from well-known and newly discovered brands and producers. MAGAZIN is active as a dealer, but also a manufacturer of its own product line. These M-Products form their own distinctive range. In this way, the brand realizes its own ideas and brings them to the market in intensive cooperation with designers and mostly regional manufacturers.

Quoted

What is the value of the German Design Graduates Project for you?

It is significant for the perceptibility of design and its significance in society and the market. So, diversity, range and quality become visible to an audience.

Where and how can design be important in the next few years?

Design has to fight for its role as an incubator for socially relevant issues. Design has the task of bringing together innovation in technology and material as well as the views of real needs and market.

How do you rate the innovative strength of young graduates and their projects?

What I would like to see are graduates as a source of inspiration as well as their self-confidence, courage and enthusiasm. Who is to deliver this, if not a generation of graduates?

Dick Spierenburg

Dick Spierenburg (NL, 1953) studied architecture in Delft and interior and product design in The Hague. Since 1995, he has been developing and organising interior design centres, one of which was established in Cologne (Design Post). As a consultant (since 2009) and creative director (since 2011) of the international furniture and interiors fair imm cologne, he plays a significant role in enhancing its profile with new formats and events. The successful projects he has been responsible for include the gallery-like Pure Editions showcase and the (with both trade visitors and the general public) very popular installation “Das Haus – Interiors on Stage”, a roughly 180 sq m simulated interior, annualy designed by a different designer or creative team, presented right in the middle of the trade fair.

Quoted

What is the value of the German Design Graduates Project for you?

German Design Graduates is a platform that promotes the talents among German graduates and shows how much individual quality and originality art academies and universities produce.

Where and how can design be important in the next few years?

The German Design Graduates Initiative offers German graduates a platform that attracts significant attention. The presentation worlds on offer reflect the individual quality and originality that comes from the design colleges and universities every year.

How do you rate the innovative strength of young graduates and their projects?

Design can seek new solutions for old and new social and economic issues. The focus is on both local and international industry. Environment and environment, meaning and design. New thinking is the core of design. This starts with students and graduates!

Jury 2020

© Henning Rogge

Tulga Beyerle

Tulga Beyerle ist Direktorin des Museum für Kunst und Gestaltung Hamburg. Von 2014 bis 2018 war sie Direktorin des Kunstgewerbemuseums, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, außerdem Mitglied der Geschäftsführung ebendort. 2006 gründete sie gemeinsam Thomas Geisler und Lilli Hollein die Vienna Design Week und war bis Ende 2013 eine ihrer Leiterinnen. Außerdem war sie in den Jahren 2000 bis 2013 als selbstständige Design Kuratorin tätig.

Nach ihrem Magister Abschluss im Bereich Industrial Design (1992) unterrichtete sie sieben Jahre Designgeschichte und Theorie an die Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien.

Tulga Beyerle (geb. 1964) ist eine Europaweit anerkannte Designexpertin, Kuratorin einer Vielzahl von Ausstellungen, aktuell außerdem u.a. Beiratsmitglied für Architektur und Design des Bundeskanzleramts für Kunst und Kultur in Österreich, Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Mudac in Lausanne und Mitglied des Programmbeirats der Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn.

Notiert

Welchen Wert hat das German Design Graduates Projekt für Sie? 
Die Initiative German Design Graduates ist eine wertvolle Plattform, um die Vielfalt der jungen Designszene, aber auch der Ausbildungsangebote in Deutschland sichtbar zu machen, eine längst überfällige Plattform.

Wo und wie kann Design wichtig sein in den nächsten Jahren?
Design war immer wichtig und wird immer wichtig sein. Der Unterschied zu gestern oder besser vorgestern ist vielleicht, dass Design als Disziplin komplexer, aber auch selbstkritischer geworden ist. So wäre zumindest mein Wunsch, dass Designer*innen sich vermehrt selbst kritisch fragen was, warum und für wen sie etwas entwerfen. Design wird die Welt nicht retten, aber ist auf dem Weg dahin eine der wertvollsten verschiedene Bereiche verknüpfende Disziplin um Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Wie schätzen Sie die Innovationskraft junger Absolventen und ihrer Projekte ein?
Wer wenn nicht die Absolventen? Den Mut zu Innovation zu fördern ist auch ein Ziel dieser Plattform.

Barbara Lersch

Barbara Lersch arbeitet für die Hans Sauer Stiftung in München. Dort beschäftigt sie sich schon seit mehreren Jahre mit sozialer Innovation und den gesellschaftlichen Wirkungen der dahinterliegenden Prozesse in verschiedenen Themenfeldern wie Stadtentwicklung, Architektur und Design. Nach ihrem Studium in Passau, Dublin und München gründete sie ein Start-Up und engagiert sich bis heute aktiv für eine vielfältige kulturelle Stadtentwicklung. 

Notiert

Welchen Wert hat das German Design Graduates Projekt für Sie? 
Das German Design Graduates Projekt verhilft dem Design als einer wichtigen gestaltenden Disziplin zu mehr Sichtbarkeit und hebt hervor, welche unserer Lebensbereiche von Design betroffen sind, nämlich alle. Die Arbeiten der Absolvent*innen zeigen auf, wie vielfältig Lösungen in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen aussehen können und verdeutlichen, wie wichtig die Designausbildung und gute Gestaltungsprozesse für Designlösungen jeglicher Art sind. 

Wo und wie kann Design wichtig sein in den nächsten Jahren?
Design kann nicht wichtig sein – es ist wichtig. Nichtsdestotrotz sollten ökologische und gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen viel selbstverständlicher fester Bestandteil von Designprozessen werden und so zu zukunftsfähigeren, ganzheitlichen und nachhaltigeren Ergebnissen führen. 

Wie schätzen Sie die Innovationskraft junger Absolventen und ihrer Projekte ein?
Die Hans Sauer Stiftung fördert seit jeher Abschlussarbeiten von Studierenden und glaubt an deren Innovationskraft und ihr Verständnis und Feingefühl für die aktuellen und drängenden Herausforderungen unserer Zeit.

Nina Sieverding

Nina Sieverding ist Kommunikationsdesignerin, Texterin und Redakteurin. Sie studierte Kommunikationsdesign, Kunstwissenschaft und Integriertes Design in Braunschweig, Bremen und Valencia. Während des Studiums absolvierte sie unter anderem Praktika bei der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau und in der Grafikabteilung des Magazins Zeit Campus. Seit 2019 ist sie Teil des Redaktionsteams der Zeitschrift form, bei der sie seit 2020 zusammen mit Anton Rahlwes die Chefredaktion verantwortet.

Das Designmagazin form wurde 1957 von Jupp Ernst, Willem Sandberg, Curt Schweicher und Wilhelm Wagenfeld gegründet und gehört damit zu den ältesten Designmagazinen Deutschlands. form berichtet über Entwicklungen und Persönlichkeiten aus allen Designdisziplinen.

Notiert

Welchen Wert hat das German Design Graduates Projekt für Sie? 
Es schafft mehr Sichtbarkeit für den Designnachwuchs und das ist großartig! Bei so vielen Abschlussarbeiten fällt es jedes Semester schwer, den Überblick zu behalten. Ein regional übergreifendes Projekt, das Vergleichbarkeit und Chancen schafft, hätte ich mir während meines Designstudiums auch gewünscht. 

Wo und wie kann Design wichtig sein in den nächsten Jahren?
Design ist jetzt schon wichtig. Es durchzieht – bewusst oder unbewusst – alle unsere Lebensbereiche. Als Impulsgeber und Vermittler zwischen verschiedenen Disziplinen wird es aber an Wichtigkeit gewinnen. Design hilft uns dabei, Strukturen zu hinterfragen und andere Perspektiven einzunehmen. Es ist also notwendige Bedingung für die Arbeit an einer zukunftsfähigen Gesellschaft.

Wie schätzen Sie die Innovationskraft junger Absolventen und ihrer Projekte ein?
Wenn nicht jetzt, wann dann? Als junge*r Designer*in hat man mit der Abschlussarbeit die einmalige Chance, so viel Zeit, Energie und Recherche wie möglich in ein Projekt zu stecken. Trotzdem sehe ich viele Arbeiten, die gefallen wollen oder vorhandene Denkmuster reproduzieren. Ich würde den jungen Designer*innen also mehr Mut wünschen, um die gewohnten Pfade und Arbeitsweisen zu verlassen. Im Design geht es darum, die eigenen Erwartungen an das Leben und die Gesellschaft zu formulieren und in neue Formate zu transformieren.

Stephan Dornhofer

Seit 1984 ist Stephan Dornhofer Geschäftsführer von MAGAZIN. Mit Leidenschaft fürs Produktdesign ist er unter anderem verantwortlich für die Zusammenstellung des Sortiments, das im Online-Shop und in den Läden in Stuttgart, München und Bonn erhältlich ist. MAGAZIN liefert eine qualitative Auswahl an Einrichtungsprodukten bekannter und neu entdeckter Marken und Produzenten. MAGAZIN ist Händler, aber auch Hersteller einer eigenen Produktlinie, den M-Produkten. In ihnen realisiert die Marke eigene Ideen und bringt sie in intensiver Zusammenarbeit mit Designern und meist regionalen Herstellern auf den Markt.

Notiert

Welchen Wert hat das German Design Graduates Projekt für Sie? 

Das Projekt ist bedeutend für die Wahrnehmbarkeit von Design und dessen Stellenwert in Gesellschaft und Markt. Hier wird Vielfalt, Bandbreite und Qualität für ein Publikum sichtbar aufbereitet.

Wo und wie kann Design wichtig sein in den nächsten Jahren?

Mehr denn je muss Design um seine Rolle als Inkubator für gesellschaftlich relevante Themen kämpfen. Design hat die Aufgabe, Innovation in Technik und Material sowie die Blickweise auf Bedürfnis und Markt zusammenzubringen. 

Wie schätzen Sie die Innovationskraft junger Absolventen und ihrer Projekte ein?

Was ich mir wünsche, sind Absolventen als Impulsgeber sowie auch deren Selbstbewusstsein, Mut und Begeisterung. Wer soll das liefern, wenn nicht eine Generation von Absolventen?

Dick Spierenburg

Dick Spierenburg (NL, 1953) studierte Architektur in Delft und Einrichtungs- und Produktdesign in Den Haag. Seit 1995 konzipiert und organisiert er Interior Design Centers, wovon eines auch in Köln entstand (Design Post). Als Berater (seit 2009) und Creative Director (seit 2011) der internationalen Einrichtungsmesse imm cologne ist er maßgeblich für die Weiterentwicklung ihres Profils durch neue Formate und Events verantwortlich. Zu seinen Erfolgsprojekten gehören dabei die Galerie-artige Themenwelt Pure Editions sowie die (bei Fach- und Publikumsbesuchern gleichermaßen) beliebte Installation „Das Haus – Interiors on Stage“, eine rund 180 qm große, von einem jährlich wechselnden Designer/Kreativ-Team gestaltete Wohnhaus-Simulation inmitten der Messe.

Notiert

Welchen Wert hat das German Design Graduates Projekt für Sie? 

Mit den German Design Graduates gibt es ein Plattform, die die Talente unter den deutschen Absolventen voranbringt und zeigt wieviel individuelle Qualität und Originalität die Design Hochschulen und Unis hervorbringen.

Wo und wie kann Design wichtig sein in den nächsten Jahren?

Die German Design Graduates Initiative bietet den deutschen Absolvent*Innen ein Plattform mit bedeutender Aufmerksamkeit. Die gebotenen Präsentationswelten bilden die individuelle Qualität und Originalität ab, die jährlich von die Design Hochschulen und Unis kommt.

Wie schätzen Sie die Innovationskraft junger Absolventen und ihrer Projekte ein?

Design kann neue Lösungen suchen für alte und neue soziale sowie wirtschafliche Themen. Wobei sowohl die lokale als auch die internationale Industrie im Fokus ist. Umfeld und Umwelt, Bedeutung und Gestaltung. Neu Denken ist der Kern von Design. Das fängt an bei Studenten und Absolventen!