Ästhetik der Dunkelheit

Sophia Feulner

September / September - 2019

Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen

What is it?

BELT is a lighting tool that serves increasingly flexible forms of living and thus the multiple use of rooms and interiors. At a table, for example, there can be found a wide variety of application scenarios for a luminaire (dining, work, play, conversation, storage, presentation etc.). Since there is not always a need for global light or dimming on the whole surface of a table, BELT defines precise zones of light and darkness through two manually and continuously movable flaps. Thus, BELT enhances a more conscious usage of light and the sensibility of its perception. The flexible angle of the flaps also prevents glare of people of different sizes sitting at a table. Suspension via a belt ensures flexibility in alignment (horizontal or vertical) and individualisation via colour and material.

What is the Topic?

In my bachelor project on "Aesthetics of Darkness" I designed a lamp that celebrates the aesthetics of darkness. Since the perception of the intensity of light is causally related to darkness, the developed luminaire provides for a more conscious and intensive perception and use of light. A practical field of application for this product can be found in the increasingly flexible use of living space - specifically, in the case of this project, the use of a dining table. Here, the luminaire serves a wide range of use scenarios through the targeted use of light. The user can step out of his passive role of use and actively create zones of light and darkness in accordance with the current situation.

Why does it look like this?

Inspiration for function and construction was provided by simple studio lights and the incidence of light through an opening door slit into a dark room.

What is special?

What is special about the work is the deep involvement with the theme of light and that, apparently paradoxically, darkness was used as the reason for designing a lamp. The luminaire itself is characterised by the fact that it not only simply illuminates a room, but also enables its user to direct light and darkness in a very direct analogue and therefore conscious way. Through this practical experience with light in everyday life, the perception and use of light remains an active part of human aesthetic competence.

What is new?

A luminaire becomes a design tool. The luminaire can be more than just passive lighting or dimming - it can be used to actively and directly control light and darkness manually to suit the situation. In this way it contributes to a more conscious perception and use of light.

Ästhetik der Dunkelheit

Sophia Feulner

September / September - 2019

Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen

Was ist es?

BELT ist ein Lichtwerkzeug, das zunehmend flexible Wohnformen und damit die Mehrfachnutzung von Räumen und des Interieurs bedient. An einem Tisch z.B. finden sich vielfältige Anwendungsszenarien für eine Leuchte (Essen, Arbeiten, Spielen, Konversation, Lagerung, Präsentation usw.). Da es nicht immer notwendig ist, die gesamte Fläche eines Tisches zu beleuchten oder zu dimmen, definiert BELT durch zwei manuell und stufenlos bewegliche Klappen präzise Zonen des Lichts und der Dunkleheit. Auf diese Weise fördert die BELT einen bewussteren Umgang mit Licht und die Sensibilität seiner Wahrnehmung. Der flexible Winkel der Klappen verhindert zudem die Blendung von Personen unterschiedlicher Grösse, die an einem Tisch sitzen. Die Aufhängung über einen Gurt gewährleistet die Flexibilität in der Ausrichtung (horizontal oder vertikal) und Individualisierung durch Farbe und Material.

Was ist das Thema?

In meinem Bachelorprojekt zur "Ästhetik der Dunkelheit" habe ich eine Leuchte entworfen, welche die Ästhetik der Dunkelheit zelebriert. Da die Wahrnehmung der Intensität von Licht unmittelbar mit der Dunkelheit zusammenhängt, sorgt die entwicklete Leuchte für eine bewusstere und intensivere Wahrnehmung und Nutzung von Licht. Ein praktisches Anwendungsgebiet für dieses Produkt fand sich im Bereich der zunehmend flexiblen Nutzung von Wohnräumen - konkret bei der Nutzung eines Esstisches. Hier bedient die Leuchte unterschiedlichste Nutzungsszenarien durch den gezielten Einsatz von Licht. Der Nutzer kann dabei zwischendruch aus seiner passiven Rolle der Nutzung heraustreten und aktiv passend zur anktuellen Situation Zonen des Lichts und der Dunkelheit schaffen.

Warum sieht es so aus?

Inspiration für Funktion und Konstruktion lieferten einfache Studioleuchten und der Lichteinfall durch einen sich öffnenden Türschlitz in einen dunklen Raum.

Was ist das Besondere?

What is special about the work is the deep involvement with the theme of light and that, apparently paradoxically, darkness was used as the reason for designing a lamp. Die Leuchte selbst zeichnet aus, dass sie nicht nur simpel einem Raum erleuchtet, sondern ihrem Nutzer auf einer sehr direkten analogen und damit bewussten Weise ermöglicht, Licht und Dunkelheit gezielt zu lenken. Durch diese praktische Erfahrung mit Licht im Alltag bleiben die Wahrnehmung und Nutzung von Licht ein aktiver Teil menschlicher ästhetischer Kompetenz.

Was ist neu?

Eine Leuchte wird zum Gestaltungswerkzeug. Die Leuchte kann mehr als passiv leuchten oder gedimmt werden - mit ihr kann Licht und Dunkelheit passend zur Situation aktiv und direkt manuell gelenkt werden. Auf diese Weise trägt sie zu einer bewussteren Wahrnehmung und Nutzung von Licht bei.