A Learning Companion for Ben – Concept for a Digital Learning Environment

Zorica Kosztelnik bei Prof. Frank Jacob (Entwurf) und Prof. Dr. Annika Frye (Theorie)

Juli / July - 2018

Muthesius Kunsthochschule Kiel

What is ist?

A concept for using the potential of digital environments in primary school education. The scope of the project was designing a voice interface-based human-computer interaction and a physical device. Interlinked digital companions encourage children to collaborate and support each other, while making repetitive everyday exercises playful by gamifying them.

What is the Topic?

The context of the project is the primary school. The first two classes mean a life-changing experience for children, because in this period they have to earn literacy skills, learning methods and understand how to be a productive member of a community. For that, it is essential, that they stay motivated and learn to collaborate and bond to each other. If they do not succeed, their chances in life will get limited, being pushed to the periphery of society as all the later subjects and challenges in the education system build on these skills.

Why does it look like this?

The device is designed for the age of 6-8. The housing, carrying the circuit board and the battery, has a direction, because in the front a camera is built in which can record in limited field of vision. The projector and loudspeaker are also placed on the front, because the device communicates with the children by projecting instruction material and by voice interaction. The shape includes joints on the top, bottom and sides, so the devices can be stacked horizontally and vertically, allowing multiple children to work together.

What is special?

This is a holistic concept, which was developed following the human-centered design guidelines. During the evaluation of the current situation of primary school education, the solution has been worked out with the close involvement of teachers. As a result, a service was created which focusses on bringing gamification into the instruction material. The successful initial contact to the learning environment is provided by a ritual which carries pedagogic value. The requirements of the networked system were designed to allow a thoughtful integration of a digital environment into primary school education, as the interaction patterns are designed for encouraging collaboration between the children.

What is new?

Computer supported learning environments can be most effectively used in a collaborative way. However, the tendency in primary school education is to let children work alone with devices. The project aims to create an environment based on a motivating story with gamification aspects, which enhances collaboration between the pupils. The ai plays a moderating role and embodies an avatar in examination situations, so the performance pressure of the children can be reduced.

A Learning Companion for Ben – Concept for a Digital Learning Environment

Zorica Kosztelnik bei Prof. Frank Jacob (Entwurf) und Prof. Dr. Annika Frye (Theorie)

Juli / July - 2018

Muthesius Kunsthochschule Kiel

Was ist es?

Ein Konzept zur sinnvollen Einbindung digitaler Lernumgebungen in der Grundschulausbildung. Im Rahmen des Projektes sind ein Human-Computer Interaktion Konzept unter Nutzung von Voice Interface sowie ein physisches Gerät entstanden.
Vernetzte digitale Companions fördern die Kollaboration zwischen Kindern und ermöglichen einen spielerischen Umgang mit repetitiven Aufgaben.

Was ist das Thema?

Der Kontext des Projektes ist die Grundschule. Die ersten zwei Klassen haben entscheidende Auswirkungen auf das Leben eines Menschen. In dieser Phase wird dem Kind die Schriftsprache und die Methoden des Lernens angeeignet. Der Schüler lernt, ein produktives Mitglied der Gesellschaft zu werden. Dafür muss das Kind seine Motivation bewahren und lernen, mit anderen zusammen zu arbeiten. Sonst wird er die späteren Klassen, die auf Lesen und Schreiben basieren, nicht absolvieren können. Dadurch werden seine Chancen im Bildungssystem und in der Gesellschaft eingeschränkt.

Warum sieht es so aus?

Die Zielgruppe sind Kinder zwischen 6-8 Jahren. Das Gehäuse, welches die Platine und den Akku beinhaltet, verfügt auf der Front über eine Kamera, welche in einem begrenzten Winkel aufnehmen kann. Da das Device durch Projektion und Voice Interaktion kommuniziert, sind der Projektor und der Lautsprecher ebenfalls auf der Front installiert. Die Form des Gerätes erlaubt das Stapeln und Stecken von mehreren Devices, damit mehrere Schüler gemeinsam Aufgaben erarbeiten können.

Was ist das Besondere?

Es handelt sich um ein holistisches Konzept, welches auf den Human-Centered Design Richtlinien basiert. Während der Analyse derzeitiger Grundschulausbildung wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrern eine Lösung herausgearbeitet. Das Ergebnis ist ein Service, welcher auf der Gamification von Lehrmaterial basiert. Der wichtige erfolgreiche Erstkontakt erfolgt durch ein Ritual mit hohem pädagogischen Wert. Um durch die Interaktionsmuster die größtmögliche kollaborative Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Schülern zu erreichen wurde viel Wert auf eine bedachte Integration einer digitalen Lernumgebung im Grundschulkontext gelegt.

Was ist neu?

Computer Supported Learning Environments können am effektivsten in einem kollaborativen Prozess angewendet werden. Dennoch besteht an Grundschulen die Tendenz, die Schüler alleine an ihren Geräten Aufgaben zu erarbeiten. Das Projekt Zielt darauf ab, eine Umgebung zu schaffen, die durch eine animierende Geschichte in Verbindung mit Gamification eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Schülern zu fördern. Die K.I. spielt dabei eine moderierende Rolle, durch die Verkörperung mittels eines Avatars wird der in Prüfungssituationen gegebene Leistungsdruck minimiert.