Hochschule

Product Design Study Program
Faculty of Architecture
Prüfeninger Straße 58
93049 Regensburg

http://id-regensburg.de/

https://www.oth-regensburg.de/

Prof. Jakob Timpe
Product Design

Prof. Dr. phil. Rosan Chow
Designtheory

Prof. Matthew Burger
Industrial design

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Phleps
Construction

OTH Regensburg

The Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg (OTH Regensburg) was founded in 1971 as a university for technology, economics and social sciences. Today, it is one of the largest universities of applied sciences in Bavaria with a focus on business, social affairs, health, architecture and design.

Studiengang Industriedesign

The bachelor’s degree program in industrial design at OTH Regensburg offers a holistic, non-specialized basic design teaching that builds on strikingly represented technical foundations and takes up references to architecture. The special combination of typical offers of a polytechnic with features of an art university characterizes the Regensburg model. The qualification goal of the study program is the ability to practice a profession through a specific combination of acquired knowledge and practiced creativity. The curricular structure of the bachelor’s degree program in industrial design is based on the division into four module areas: design, theory, technology and electives. The structure and composition of the program are subject to continuous change. The vision of a future master’s program in design at OTH Regensburg will also continue the bachelor’s program and motivates a novel, transnationally oriented approach to design teaching.

School Profile Projects

Matthias Gschwendtner / Seating for elderly people

Donald is a universal chair with a saddle-shaped seat. This allows sitting higher than on conventional chairs and thus reduces the force required when standing up. In addition, the high seat has a positive effect on the user’s posture because he sits more upright. Particularly in old age, this becomes an important criterion when selecting seating furniture.

Larissa Berghofer / Design against Depression

The biofeedback bracelet is a modular system that adapts individually to the user and creates a positive added value by providing help in depressive phases. Long-term healing cannot be achieved, but the short-term distraction of acute symptoms can be made possible.

Lucas Becker / Poseidon

Long-term oxygen therapy in the home is currently well provided for by stationary systems. Outside the home, for example during leisure activities, the situation becomes more difficult: there is no mobile oxygen unit that can be taken into the water. The draft provides for two separate products, a mobile liquid oxygen unit and an additional swimming unit, plus an optional abdominal belt for water.

Hochschule

Studiengang Produktdesign
Fakultät Architektur
Prüfeninger Straße 58
93049 Regensburg

http://id-regensburg.de/

https://www.oth-regensburg.de/

Prof. Jakob Timpe
Lehrgebiet Produktgestaltung

Prof. Dr. phil. Rosan Chow
Lehrgebiet Designtheorie

Prof. Matthew Burger
Lehrgebiet Industriedesign

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Phleps
Lehrgebiet Konstruktion

OTH Regensburg

Die Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg (OTH Regensburg) wurde 1971 als Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Sozialwesen gegründet. Heute ist sie eine der größten Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften in Bayern mit Schwerpunkten in den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Soziales, Gesundheit, Architektur und Gestaltung.

Studiengang Industriedesign

Der Bachelor-Studiengang Industriedesign an der OTH Regensburg bietet eine ganzheitliche, nicht spezialisierte Gestaltungsgrundlehre, die auf markant vertretenen technischen Grundlagen aufbaut und Bezüge zur Architektur aufnimmt. Die besondere Verbindung von typischen Angeboten eines Polytechnikums mit Merkmalen einer Kunsthochschule charakterisiert das Regensburger Modell. Qualifikationsziel des Studiengangs ist die Befähigung zur Berufsausübung durch eine spezifische Kombination aus erlerntem Wissen und geübter Kreativität. Die curriculare Struktur des Bachelorstudiengangs Industriedesign basiert auf der Einteilung in vier Modulbereiche Gestaltung, Theorie, Technik und Wahlfächer. Der Aufbau und die Zusammensetzung des Studiums unterliegen einem kontinuierlichen Wandel. Die Vision eines zukünftigen Masterstudiengangs Design an der OTH Regensburg wird auch das Bachelorprogramm fortschreiben und motiviert zu einem neuartigen, transnational orientierten Ansatz in der Designlehre.

School Profile Projects

Matthias Gschwendtner / Sitzen im Alter

Donald ist ein universell einsetzbarer Stuhl mit einer sattelförmigen Sitzfläche. Diese lässt höheres Sitzen als auf herkömmlichen Stühlen zu und reduziert so die benötigte Kraft beim Aufstehen. Zusätzlich wirkt sich der hohe Sitz positiv auf die Körperhaltung des Nutzers aus, weil er aufrechter sitzt. Vor allem im Alter wird dies zu einem wichtigen Kriterium bei der Auswahl von Sitzmöbeln.

Larissa Berghofer / Design gegen Depression

Das Biofeedback-Armband ist ein modulares System, dass sich individuell an den*die Nutzer*in anpasst und einen positiven Mehrwert schafft, indem es in depressiven Phasen Hilfe leistet. Langfristige Heilung kann dadurch zwar nicht erzielt werden, aber die kurzfristige Ablenkung bei akuten Symptomen kann so ermöglicht werden.

Lucas Becker / Poseidon

Durch stationäre Systeme sind Betroffene einer Langzeit-Sauerstofftherapie im häuslichen Bereich derzeit gut versorgt. Schwierig wird es außerhalb des Hauses, etwa bei Freizeitaktivitäten: es existiert kein mobiles Sauerstoffgerät, das ins Wasser mitgenommen werden kann. Der Entwurf sieht zwei seperate Produkte vor, ein mobiles Flüssigsauerstoffgerät und eine zusätzliche Schwimmeinheit, dazu einen optionalen Bauchgurt fürs Wasser.